Saturday, 15th May 2021
Logo Islandinfo
Mauritius in your hands            

Find in Mauritius

Sight Seeing
Eating Out
Body & Soul
Real Estate
Mauritius Map
Mauritius Online Magazine May 2017 Issue
Expatriates in Mauritius
Mauritius Discovery
Mauritius Explore
Mauritius Escape

Forthcoming Events
in Mauritius

Events & Galleries
in Mauritius
Min: 19 Max: 27
Partly Cloudy
Other regions of Mauritius
18 May 2012

Adele has picked up two prizes at the Ivor Novello songwriting awards - but missed out on two more top trophies.

The star was named songwriter of the year and her song Rolling in the Deep was the most performed work of 2011.

However, Ed Sheeran's The A-Team beat Rolling In The Deep and Florence and the Machine's Shake It Out to be named best song musically and lyrically.

And PJ Harvey's Let England Shake won the album award, beating Adele's 21 and Kate Bush's 50 Words For Snow.

The annual awards - in their 57th year - are highly regarded within the industry because they are voted for by songwriters and composers.

Accepting her songwriting award from Annie Lennox, a tearful Adele said she had learned from the reviews of her first album.

She said: "The main thing was the songs weren't as good as my voice, and I took that on board and now I'm winning songwriter of the year."

Eurythmics singer Lennox said she had been struck by Adele's talent when they had performed on Later With Jools Holland.

"It was like lightning had struck," said Lennox. "She doesn't need talent shows and competitions and hype - this is the real deal."

In the category for most performed song, Adele had two of the three nominations - for Rolling in the Deep and Someone Like You - with the shortlist completed by Take That's The Flood.

Accepting the award for Rolling in the Deep, with co-writer Paul Epworth, Adele joked that she never expected it to be a hit.

"No offence Paul, I didn't think it was going to do anything, anywhere!"

But the song has helped the north London singer become the world's biggest pop star, with global sales of 18 million for her second album 21.

The album was pipped to the Ivors' best album prize by singer-songwriter PJ Harvey, who also beat Adele to the Mercury Music Prize last September.

Kate Bush had also been in the running for best album at the Ivors, with her concept album 50 Words For Snow - making it the first time the album shortlist had been exclusively female.
'Outstanding contribution'

There were also awards for Take That who were honoured for their outstanding contribution to British music, and Lana Del Rey and her songwriting partner Justin Parker, who won best contemporary song for Video Games.

Take That's Gary Barlow told the audience: "There's nothing like winning an Ivor as a songwriter."

Ed Sheeran said he was shocked to win an Ivor Novello award for best song musically and lyrically for The A Team because he was convinced Adele would win.

The award for best television soundtrack went to Martin Phipps for BBC Two drama The Shadow Line, while the film award went to Alex Heffes for the score for The First Grader, about an 84-year-old Kenyan villager who fought for his rights to go to school for the first time.

A number of honorary awards were presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (Basca), which organises the ceremony at London's Grosvenor House Hotel.

The accolade for outstanding song collection going to Spandau Ballet's Gary Kemp, who described it as "the greatest honour of my career".

He added: "It makes me feel very happy for that 12-year-old boy in 1972 who wrote songs on his bed and thought he might be weird."

Siouxsie Sioux was named the Ivors Inspiration, the lifetime achievement gong went to Mark Knopfler of Dire Straits, and veteran pianist Stan Tracey won the Ivors' first jazz award.

Musical maestro Andrew Lloyd Webber was given a Basca Fellowship, joining names including Elton John, Paul McCartney and Tim Rice.


« Back
Publish your article with us for free
Home | About us | Contact Us | Advertising | Link to Us | Airport   Bookmark and Share Site by: Islandinfo & Maxuz Web Agency