Tuesday, 11th May 2021
Logo Islandinfo
Mauritius in your hands            

Find in Mauritius

Sight Seeing
Eating Out
Body & Soul
Real Estate
Mauritius Map
Mauritius Online Magazine May 2017 Issue
Expatriates in Mauritius
Mauritius Discovery
Mauritius Explore
Mauritius Escape

Forthcoming Events
in Mauritius

Events & Galleries
in Mauritius
Min: 19 Max: 27
Partly Cloudy
Other regions of Mauritius
14 Jul 2011

Britain's Sean O'Brien is among those shortlisted for this year's Forward Prize for Poetry, an award he has won on three previous occasions.

His work November will compete in the best collection category, as will Night by David Harsent - another previous recipient of the £10,000 prize.

John Burnside, Geoffrey Hill, Michael Longley and D Nurkse are also cited.

This year's winner will be announced at Somerset House, London on 5 October, on the eve of National Poetry Day.

Other awards to be presented that night include a £5,000 prize for best first collection, and a £1,000 prize for best single poem.

O'Brien took home his first Forward prize in 1995, going on to win it again in 2001 and in 2007.

In 2006 his Fantasia on a Theme of James Wright was awarded the best single poem prize.

His other work includes his book of essays The Deregulated Muse and his verse plays The Birds and Keepers of the Flame.

Sir Andrew Motion, chair of the judging panel, said this year's list contained some "confirming and liberating" material.

The former Poet Laureate is joined by author Lady Antonia Fraser, journalist Sameer Rahim and the poets Fiona Sampson and Leonie Rushforth.

"We're pleased that contemporary poetry is as strong today as when we began," said William Sieghart, whose Forward Arts Foundation founded the awards in 1992.

Irish poet Seamus Heaney received last year's prize for his Human Chain collection of poems.

Source: bbc.co.uk

« Back
Publish your article with us for free
Home | About us | Contact Us | Advertising | Link to Us | Airport   Bookmark and Share Site by: Islandinfo & Maxuz Web Agency