Thursday, 6th May 2021
Logo Islandinfo
Mauritius in your hands            

Find in Mauritius

Sight Seeing
Eating Out
Body & Soul
Real Estate
Mauritius Map
Mauritius Online Magazine May 2017 Issue
Expatriates in Mauritius
Mauritius Discovery
Mauritius Explore
Mauritius Escape

Forthcoming Events
in Mauritius

Events & Galleries
in Mauritius
Min: 19 Max: 27
Partly Cloudy
Other regions of Mauritius
08 Oct 2013

The 28-year-old, who helped the Sydney Roosters win Sunday's NRL Grand Final,  is tipped for a return to rugby union.
However, four of his Roosters team-mates have been selected, including ex-Hull FC prop Sam Moa.
Moa, 27, has eight caps for Tonga, including against Samoa in April, but has opted to switch nationalities.
Williams started his career in league, winning an NRL title with the Canterbury Bulldogs before quitting to play rugby union in 2008.
He played a part in the All Blacks' 2011 World Cup victory and a move back to the 15-man code would potentially put him in the frame for their title defence in England and Wales in 2015 and a place in the New Zealand Sevens team when the sport makes its debut at the 2016 Olympics in Rio.
Along with Moa, Roosters winger Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has been given a first call-up by coach Stephen Kearney but their club-mate Shaun Kenny-Dowall will miss the tournament because of a fractured jaw he picked up in the Grand Final.
Jeremy Smith is absent for personal reasons and Benji Marshall, so long a key figure in the national team, signed in the summer for rugby union's Auckland Blues.
However, ex-Wigan half-back Thomas Leuluai and Greg Eastwood, who had a spell with Leeds in 2010, are both included in the 24-man squad which will be captained by Simon Mannering.
The Kiwis will play the Cook Islands in a warm-up match at Doncaster's Keepmoat Stadium on Sunday 20 October before facing Samoa (27 October) France (1 November) and Papua New Guinea (8 November) in Group B.
Meanwhile, Tonga have included three Super League players in their squad with Ukuma Ta'ai from Huddersfield joined by Mickey Paea of Hull KR and St Helens' Willie Manu.
The side, captained by Brent Kite, will face Scotland and Italy in Group C.
New Zealand: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs), Kieran Foran (Manly Sea Eagles), Alex Glenn (Brisbane Broncos), Bryson Goodwin (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Josh Hoffman (Brisbane Broncos), Krisnan Inu (Canterbury Bulldogs), Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors), Sam Kasiano (Canterbury Bulldogs), Thomas Leuluai (NZ Warriors), Kevin Locke (NZ Warriors), Issac Luke (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Ben Matulino (NZ Warriors), Sam Moa (Sydney Roosters), Jason Nightingale (St George Illawarra Dragons), Frank-Paul Nu'uausala (Sydney Roosters), Frank Pritchard (Canterbury Bulldogs), Elijah Taylor (NZ Warriors), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters), Manu Vatuvei (NZ Warriors), Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters), Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers).
Tonga: Brent Kite (Manly/capt), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), Glen Fisi'iahi (NZ Warriors), Mahe Fonua (Melbourne Storm), Daniel Foster (Penrith Panthers), Sydney Havea (Liahona Old Boys), Siliva Havili (NZ Warriors), Konrad Hurrell (NZ Warriors), Samisoni Langi (Sydney Roosters), Siuatonga Likiliki (Newcastle Knights), Sika Manu (Penrith Panthers), Willie Manu (St Helens), Nesiasi Mataitonga (Cronulla Sharks), Fuifui Moimoi (Paramatta Eels), Ben Murdoch-Masila (Wests Tigers), Mickey Paea (Hull KR), Pat Politoni (Cronulla Sharks), Nafe Seluini (Sydney Roosters), Ukuma Ta'ai (Huddersfield Giants), Jorge Taufua (Manly), Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys), Peni Terepo (Parramatta Eels), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Siosaia Vave (Melbourne Storm).


« Back
Publish your article with us for free
Home | About us | Contact Us | Advertising | Link to Us | Airport   Bookmark and Share Site by: Islandinfo & Maxuz Web Agency